Indiana University Northwest Text

Executive Committee Minutes

Indiana University Logo

November 13, 1998

Present: Blohm, Bosman, Hass, Hoftiezer, LaReau, Lindmark, Lorimer-Lundberg, Malone, Poulard, Rominger, Rooda, Rosselli, Sandoval, Schoon, Tolhuizen, Weiler, Wollons.

1. Distributed Education. Memo from VC Moran suggesting the appointment of "a faculty committee to inform itself of DE threats and opportunities and then to recommend to the faculty a strategy for position IUN interact with the new [Associate VP for Distributed Education] and also to use the developments to our advantage." The following names were suggested and will be contacted to determine their interest: Blake, Hass, Sandavol, Malone, Lukas, Lovely, Seibert, Tuncay, Marshall, Szymanski.

2. Post Tenure Review. Each campus will need a plan or the Board of Trustees will mandate a plan. Three campuses already have proposed plans. All plans must follow minimum guidelines, and only using the annual reports will not be enough. The Faculty Affairs Committee is studying the issue. See UFC Circulars U7-99 and U8-99.

3. Constitution Committee. The Committee has reworded the proposed amendment to the bylaws, which was tabled at the September meeting. They continue to work on drafting a new constitution and investigating the possibility of a Faculty Senate.

4. Chair of the Faculty Organization. Traditionally, Deans have not served as Chair of the Organization nor on the Executive Committee. The current Chair was recently appointed Dean, effective January 1, 1999. There was discussion regarding this issue. A member of the Executive Committee called for the Chair's resignation. However, the Constitution does not prohibit administrators from serving on the Executive Committee or as Chair. It is a personal decision.

Submitted by: Ellen Bosman, Secretary

Indiana University Northwest
3400 Broadway - Gary, Indiana  46408

Copyright Complaints bullet Privacy Statement