Skip to main navigation Skip to page content
Indiana University Northwest

Office of Marketing and Communications

IU Northwest School of Business and Economics recognizes top achievers

Scholarships, awards bestowed on students of AACSB-accredited business school


Media Contact

Emily Banas
Office of Marketing and Communications

Erika Rose
Office of Marketing and Communications

Related Links

School of Business and Economics

If IU Northwest’s best and brightest business and economics students didn’t have enough to beam about at their recent awards reception, alumni Danny Tsataros gave them another powerful take-home message.

“IU opens doors,” the Gary native reminded the honorees. He admits this phrase was most likely lifted from an advertisement he might have seen, but nevertheless, he believes in the value of the statement.

Tsataros, a 1989 IU Northwest grad, went on to work for a Fortune 500 company, earned his master’s in business administration and his law degree, and now has his own law practice. With much praise for the faculty that helped shape him when he was an undergraduate student at the IU Northwest business school, he is now a visiting faculty member, teaching four classes in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA).

He says much of the credit is owed to the name and reputation of IU Northwest itself, which offers the only public business program in Northwest Indiana accredited by the prestigious Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International (AACSB), the premier business accreditation attained by only five percent of business schools worldwide. In fact, Tsataros credits his ability to earn his MBA and JD degrees in less than three years to his rigorous undergraduate level courses from IU Northwest that transferred directly into his master’s program.

Following Tsataros’s inspiring words, School of Business and Economics faculty members and administrators called this year’s best and brightest forward to receive various scholarships and awards, given in the names of past influential business school faculty members.

Scholarship recipients include:

Carrie Collins, Lindsey Berendt, Andres Santiago, Virginia Smith, Justin Vanaman, Craig Van Dyke, Alyssa Murchek, Veronica Simms, Eden Strange, Elaine Hall, Ashley Eaton, Marisa Fenn, Chris Fuller, and Matthew Lambert.

Special recognition for various awards was bestowed upon:

Kristen Banschbach, Ashley Richmond, Carol Stachowiak, Tanya Tharp, Shannan Sharp, Anita Majstorov, Elizabeth Wojcinski, Adam O’Hare, Justin Vanaman, and Amanda Vasquez.

Seventeen students and one faculty member were invited into Beta Gamma Sigma, the prestigious international honor society for business excellence. Beta Gamma Sigma membership is open to students ranking in the top 10 percent of baccalaureate programs and the top 20 percent of graduate programs at business schools that have been accredited by AACSB International. The induction ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, May 11 at Avalon Manor in Merrillville.

The invitees include: Undergraduates Charles Dayton, Michelle Lulofs, Elaine Hall, Tiffany Nichols, Steven Ivetic, Justin Vanaman and Ann Kalb; Graduate students Christopher Bair, Louis Meinecke, David Barker, Carlos Navarro, Zhi Pei, Angela Comsa, Stacey Kauffman, Allison Urbanczyk and Derek Lusk. Faculty member Jim Thomas, a senior lecturer, also earned an invitation, as well as student Thomas Devine, who was invited for a second recognition.

The following students were recognized for their role in the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program: Tara Gibbs, Adam O’Hare, Megan Grezovski, Margie Rivera-Tomasi, Charlie Johnson, Shannan Sharp, Kevin Levy, Justin Vanaman, Tanya Muvceski and Amanda Webster, as well as Senior Lecturer Jim Thomas, who serves as the site coordinator.

As a way of recognizing the extra support provided by students’ families as they persevere through business school, a special honor is bestowed each year for one exceptionally dedicated spouse. The “Putting Your Spouse Through College” (PST) certificate was presented to Garrett Sharpe, spouse of Shannan Sharp.