Indiana University Northwest


Office of Marketing and Communications

red line

Leadership society at IU Northwest inducts 13 students, alumni

Universityís chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success offers its members training, coaching and networking opportunities

The Indiana University Northwest chapter of Sigma Alpha Pi, the National Society of Leadership and Success, inducted 13 members in a ceremony on Thursday, May 21, bringing the recently established groupís total membership to 17.

Sigma Alpha Pi has nearly 59,000 members at more than 160 participating institutions, including IUPUI. In January, IU Northwest became the second IU school to join the Society, which provides its member students with leadership training, individual coaching, networking opportunities, and even an online job database.

Sigma Alpha Pi members participate in monthly interactive conferences via satellite, in addition to on-campus leadership training and networking team meetings. After completing the required training events, members receive their leadership certificates from the Sigma Alpha Pi National Office. More importantly, though, they benefit from the development of skills, attitudes and abilities that will serve them throughout their personal and professional lives.

The IU Northwest chapter of Sigma Alpha Pi was established in January 2009 as the successor to the hugely successful Institute for Innovative Leadership, which had trained students in the art of leadership for nine years. The Instituteís final four graduates -- Tiffney Smith, of Gary; Melony Blissmer, of Valparaiso; Christopher Drapeau, of Walkerton; and La Toya Pryor, of Portage ó also became the new chapterís first four inductees in a ceremony held in January.

Joining them on Thursday were seven IU Northwest alumni, who had also graduated previously from the Institute, along with six current students. The new alumni members include: Ceean Cohill, of Griffith; Peggy Miller, of Gary; Willy Okwara, of Merrillville; Despina Amanatidis, of Highland; Constance El-Amin, of East Chicago; Ernestine Johnson, of Merrillville; and Shelli Henry, of Schererville.

The new student inductees include: Cynthia Rojas, of Porter; Janel Polster, of Highland; Christopher Cuadra, of Hobart; Jennifer Stewart, of Gary; Shakinah Bullock, of Gary; and Leslie Dallner, of Merrillville.

Advisors to the IU Northwest chapter of Sigma Alpha Pi are Student Life Coordinator Scott Fulk and Center for Teaching and Learning Executive Director Charlotte Reed, Ed.D. For more information about how to apply for membership in Sigma Alpha Pi, contact Fulk at (219) 980-6792, or email him at



Media Contact:

Christopher Sheid

Michelle Searer

Related Links

National Society of Leadership and Success

[an error occurred while processing this directive]