Indiana University Northwest


Office of Marketing and Communications

red line

TV news veteran Harry Porterfield, IU Northwest Prof. Earl Jones to receive Neal-Marshall Alumni Chapter awards at Graduate Reception on April 26

Porterfield to receive Legacy of Leadership Award; Jones to receive Outstanding Faculty Award; SDM Investments CEO Sharon Mallory to receive Emerging Leader Award

Emmy Award-winning TV news veteran Harry Porterfield will be among this year’s honorees at the 11th annual Graduate Reception for the Neal-Marshall Alumni Chapter of Northwest Indiana. Porterfield will receive the Neal-Marshall Legacy of Leadership Award during the reception on Thursday, April 26 at 6 p.m. at the Indiana University Northwest Library Conference Center, located at 3400 Broadway in Gary, Ind.

Porterfield, an ABC 7 News Chicago feature reporter, is a venerated member of the Chicago media who has been on the air in the Windy City for well over 40 years. He is known particularly for his “People You Should Know” segments, in which he has profiled approximately 2,000 noteworthy individuals and organizations in the Chicagoland area. Porterfield also hosts “People, Places & Things,” a series of locally produced half-hour programs that feature prominent African-American citizens whose actions and accomplishments have earned them honor and respect in their communities. An 11-time Emmy-winner, Porterfield also spent 21 years at WBBM Channel 2 News in Chicago as the 6 p.m. nightly news anchor and as reporter/host of the acclaimed public-affairs series “Channel 2: The People.”

IU Northwest Associate Professor of African-American Studies Earl Jones, Ph.D. will join Porterfield as this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Award. Jones, who is also an associate professor of public and environmental affairs, has taught at IU Northwest since 1989 and has previously served as chair of the Department of Minority Studies. In addition to his teaching duties, Jones has engaged and energized the Gary community with his involvement in such endeavors as the Gary Historic Midtown Project, which seeks to promote the preservation of Gary’s Midtown district and to encourage the development of an economic-revitalization plan for that area. Jones also serves as an advisor for the IU Northwest Black Student Union, and he works successfully to help bring a variety of guest speakers and events to the campus.

Sharon Mallory, chief executive officer of SDM Investments, will receive the Neal-Marshall Alumni Chapter’s Emerging Leader Award. Mallory’s investment firm is the first in Northwest Indiana to be owned by an African-American woman. Mallory is also the host of “Pocket Change,” a financial-education TV show that airs on local cable-access stations, and she writes for assorted publications in Northwest Indiana.

The Neal-Marshall Alumni Chapter of Northwest Indiana is an affiliate organization of the Indiana University Alumni Association. It serves Lake, Porter and LaPorte Counties. More than 200 graduates and friends of IU are expected to attend this year’s Graduate Reception.

The Neal-Marshall Alumni Club was organized in 1977 to meet the needs of African-American alumni from Indiana University. The organization addresses the needs of African-American students, faculty and staff while promoting awareness of the history, traditions and legacy of African-Americans at all IU campuses. The Neal-Marshall Alumni Club is named after alumni Marcellus Neal (B.A. in mathematics, 1895), who was the first African-American man to graduate from IU, and Frances Eagleston Marshall (B.A. in English, 1919), who was the first African-American woman to graduate from IU.



Media Contact:

Christopher Sheid
Specialist, OMC

Michelle Searer
Director, OMC

Related Links

Neal-Marhsall Alumni Chapter
of Northwest Indiana

[an error occurred while processing this directive]