Indiana University Northwest


Office of Marketing and Communications

red line

Scholars, elected officials will talk ethics at IU Northwest conference Nov. 13

Crown Point Mayor Dan Klein, State Rep. Vernon Smith and other area officials scheduled to participate in day-long event

Indiana University Northwest is pleased to invite the Northwest Indiana community to the Nov. 13 conference “Coming Closer .. Ethics in Northwest Indiana.” This informative series of panel discussions will focus on ethics in public service and will feature the participation of local public officials and academic experts.

The conference will begin at 10 a.m. in Room 105C of the Library Conference Center, 3400 Broadway in Gary, Ind. It will feature four different panel discussions: “Ethics and its Role in Government Service” at 11 a.m.; “Pledges, Codes and Other Regulations” at 12 p.m.; “Children First: Ethics, Superintendents and School Boards” at 1:30 p.m.; and “Perspectives on the Culture in Northwest Indiana (Leadership, Education, Business)” at 3 p.m. The schedule of participants includes: Crown Point Mayor Dan Klein, Highland Town Council President Joe Wszolek, Highland Clerk-Treasurer Michael Griffin; Munster Town Councilman Rob Mangus; Calvin Bellamy, former chairman and CEO of Bank Calumet; State Rep. Vernon G. Smith, D-Gary; and Maurice Eisenstein, Ph.D., associate professor of history and political science at Purdue University Calumet.

Several past and current regional school officials also are slated to take part, along with a number of IU Northwest faculty members. A reception will follow the final panel presentation at 4 p.m.

“Coming Closer” is open to the public. IU Northwest encourages community leaders, elected officials and interested citizens to attend these productive discussions about the ethics of public service. Please RSVP by calling (219) 980-6676.

“Coming Closer” is sponsored by the IU Northwest Center for Regional Excellence, the Office of the Chancellor, the Office of Academic Affairs, the College of Arts and Sciences, and the Department of History and Philosophy.

Participating IU Northwest faculty include: Dorothy Ige, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Anna Rominger, J.D., dean of the School of Business and Economics; Assistant Prof. Marie Eisenstein, Ph.D., of the IU Northwest School of Public and Environmental Policy; Assistant Prof. Gianluca Di Muzio, Ph.D., of the IU Northwest philosophy department; Assistant Prof. Chris Young, Ph.D., of the IU Northwest history department; Prof. James Lane, Ph.D., chair of the history department; Assistant Prof. Anja Matwijkiw, Ph.D., of the philosophy department; and Patricia Lundberg, Ph.D., executive director of the Center for Regional Excellence.



Media Contact:

Christopher Sheid

Michelle Searer
[an error occurred while processing this directive]