Indiana University Northwest


Office of Marketing and Communications

red line

Institute for Innovative Leadership announces newest inductees (photo attached)

Fifteen new leaders have crossed a bridge of opportunity expanding their confidence, involvement and effectiveness in the community. These leaders are the newest class to be inducted as members of the Indiana University Northwest Institute for Innovative Leadership.

Inductees for spring 2005 are: Roberta "Bobbie" Atzhorn of Chesterton, Sandra Bowie of Valparaiso, Alice Carter of Merrillville, Gail Coleman of Gary, Larry Hayden of Gary, Crystal Jelks of Gary, Brock Lloyd of Valparaiso, Ryan Mistarz of Cedar Lake, Melissa Murdock of Valparaiso, Damian Perkins of Highland, Mary Louise Rieger of Portage, Cora Robinson of Gary, Jennifer Stewart of Gary, Gabriela Tirado of Gary and Reginald Williams of Merrillville.

Each student leader successfully completed two consecutive semesters in the leadership development program, which goes beyond traditional corporate-style leadership training. While students are given opportunities to network with business and community leaders, there is also a strong focus on self-awareness.

Participants are active in attending workshops, weekly small group discussions, working with mentors and individual counseling. As members of the Institute, each will continue to be involved in the services and activities.

"It is an incredible experience to watch our participants grow and improve during the course of one year in the leadership development program," said Executive Director Keith Kirkpatrick.

"You will never meet a more enthused, talented and busy group of people. Not only are their schedules filled with work, education, family and community

commitments: they have dedicated themselves to a continuing role in leadership."

The Institute for Innovative Leadership is a partnership between IU Northwest and Northwest Indiana's community and business leadership throughout all sectors. The Institute is designed to create a binding link between educational experience and leadership practice.

For more information, please contact the Institute for Innovative Leadership at

(219) 981-5631.



Media Contact:

Kim Kintz

Spring 2005 Leadership Inductees
[an error occurred while processing this directive]