Indiana University Northwest


Office of Marketing and Communications

red line

IU Northwest recognizes 2004-05 freshman scholarship recipients

At a formal luncheon, IU Northwest recognized the regionís top scholars who chose to pursue their education goals at the university. Thirty-eight freshmen were handpicked to receive the universityís top academic scholarships. These students demonstrate a commitment to educational excellence and have leadership potential, according to IU Northwest Chancellor Bruce Bergland.

"We also would like to thank the large group of supporters whose gifts provide these scholarships and make it possible for these students to fulfill their dreams," Bergland said.

The following scholarships were awarded to the listed recipients: (Name, high school, major)

Special Academic Scholarship
This full-tuition award honors students within the top ten percent of their class with outstanding SAT scores.

Kimberly Alonzo, Wheeler, Nursing; Allison Boswinkel, Morton, Undecided; Nakia Bowens, Calumet, Psychology; Kevin Coffman, Portage, Psychology; David Denisiuk, Calumet, Pre-Med; Kimberly Edens, Gavit, Allied Health; Kathryn Eyermann, Portage, Anthropolgy; Joseph Gettler, Crown Point, Criminal Justice; Bonnie Hoover, Logansport, Pre-Med; Pauline Katsouros, Merrillville, Nursing; Lisa Kolodziej, Morton, Fine Arts; Rebecca Lee, Merrillville, Dental Hygiene; Ralph Lundewall, Hobart, Communications; Paul Mackowski, Lake Central, Political Science; Thalia Maginas, Wheeler, Radiologic Science; Christina Mattei, Andrean, Radiologic Science; Lauren Parobek, Portage, Nursing; Brittney Plantinga, Lake Central, Nursing; Michelle Stojanovich, Hobart, Radiography; Cuyler Switalski, LaPorte, Undecided; David Van Laningham, Highland, Computer Information Systems; Cassandra Vandergriff, Portage, History; Chloe Walton, Crown Point, Pre-Med; Samantha Wright, La Crosse, Pre-Med.

Chancellorís Valedictorian Scholarship
This full-support scholarship is available to each Valedictorian meeting established admissions requirements who enrolls full-time from an accredited high school.

Colie Dever, Gavit, Elementary Education.

Chancellor's Salutatorian Scholarship
This full-tuition and fees scholarship is awarded to high school students graduating with superior grades and SAT scores.

Carol Jo Bedar, Everado, Business; Elizabeth Gill, River Forest, Elementary Education; Brittany Joyce, Horace Mann, Nursing; Elizabeta Prentoski, Edison, Actuarial Science.

Ivy Tech Transfer Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a student who transferred from Ivy Tech with superior records.

Patricia Cervantes, Portage, Business.

Fernandez Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a student of Hispanic descent with excellent academic records.

Jessica Mojica, Biology.

Citizens Financial Services Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a student graduating from an accredited high school with excellent records and SAT scores.

Kristy Baranowski, Lake Central, Dental Hygiene; Jessica Smithey,Valparaiso.

Optimist Club of Hammond Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to academically meritorious freshmen students residing in Lake County.

Elizabeth Estrada, Hammond High, Nursing; Hollie Sheffield, Morton, Dental Hygiene.

Bank One, Merrillville Scholarship
This full-support scholarship is awarded annually to academically meritorious freshmen.

Jennifer Boardman, Wheeler, Communications; Julius Harper, Jr., Lake Central, Biology; Anthony Laingren, Portage, Elementary Education.



Media Contact:

Kim Kintz

The Bank One, Merrillville scholarship is awarded annually to academically meritorious freshman. This yearís recipients and Bank One representative (shown from left to right) are elementary education major Anthony Laingren of Portage, biology major Julius Harper, Jr. of Schererville, communication major Jennifer Boardman of Valparaiso and First Vice President of Bank One, Merrillville Scott Steinwart.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]