For Immediate Release
All Zones
June 29,  2000
For More Information Contact:
Roxane M. Geraci at (219) 980-6686
Indiana University Northwest
Office of Marketing and Communications
IU Northwest Faculty and Staff Recognized for Outstanding Work

Seven members of Indiana University Northwest’sfaculty and staff were recently recognized for outstanding work on campusand in the community.

C. Hazel Maloneof Valparaiso was honored with the Chancellor’s Distinguished ServiceAward for her dedication to the nursing profession. Malone, who isassociate dean of student services and administration in the Division of Nursing, has been with IU Northwest for 34 years. She also givesmuch of her time to professional and community service.

“In over three decades, individuals from all walks of life have grownto love Hazel, as well as express great respect for her,” says IU NorthwestChancellor Bruce Bergland.“She is recognized for her dedication to nursing students throughout theIU School System.   

Also receiving the Chancellor’s Distinguished Service Award wasWilliam Lee of Gary. Lee, recently retired director of admissionsand financial aid at the university,was honored for his volunteer work on campus, as well as for his serviceto the Northwest Indiana community. 

“Bill has shown us that his commitment to IU Northwest did not end withretirement and has continued with a lifelong philosophy of promoting theadvantages of higher education,” says Chancellor Bergland. Lee served theuniversity for 27 years before retirement.

Other award recipients include professor of historyand author of Ancient Siege Warfare, Paul Kern of Munster, who receivedthe IU Northwest Scholarship Award; associate professor of publicand environmental affairs (SPEA),George Assibey-Mensah of Merrillville, who received the OutstandingFaculty Teaching Award; Lois Libauskus (UniversityLibrary) of Crown Point, who received the Outstanding Clerical StaffRecognition Award; Charles Burns (UniversityPolice) of Merrillville, who received the Outstanding Service/MaintenanceStaff Recognition Award; Diana Dicks (Division of Allied Health) of Gary, who received the Outstanding ProfessionalStaff Award; and Nicki Lott (Information Technology) of Lake Station, who received the Outstanding TechnicalStaff Award.

Click Indiana University Northwest For Homepage
Campus Calendar| Marketing & CommunicationsPress Releases
Comments: Office of Marketing & Communications