For Immediate Release
All Zones
May 10, 2000
For More Information Contact:
Roxane M. Geraci at (219) 980-6686
Indiana University Northwest
Office of Marketing and Communications
Social Work Program Applauds First Graduates

After completing its first four years as a master of social work (MSW)program, the first 34 students will graduate from the Division of Social Work at Indiana UniversityNorthwest. To graduate the students completed traditional course work,as well as almost 1000 hours of community service and field experience. 

Opening its doors for the first time in 1996, the MSW program beganas a response to the community. According to Dr. Grafton Hull, division dean, the field of social work provides 60 to 80% ofmental health services in the country, with the Northwest Indiana regioncomparable to those figures. 

“There are no other public institutions in the area that offer thisprogram,” says Hull adding that there is a need for trained social workers.The U.S. Department of Labor identifiessocial work with an above average growth potential through the year 2005and also states that interest in social work degrees is at the highestlevel in two decades. 

Hull says the majority of the new IU Northwestgraduates will go into the human service area while working in clinicalfields as child and family services, child welfare, mental health or schoolsocial work Other graduate social workers may work in administrative fieldssuch as community organizations, research, management, policy planningand program development 

IU Northwest Division of Social Work graduates include Robin Albrittonof Glenwood, Illinois,  Teresa Armes, Jenifer Benson-Kallio and LorettaPotter, of Valparaiso, Oladele Adesiyan, Rosa Lee Askew, Wendy Baity, ClariBenford,  Annette Brown, Beatrice Clayborn, Diane Edwards, LendoraHawkins, Barbara Hudson and Jose Valtierra, Jr. of Gary,  MichelleBatson and Angela Tucker-Griffith of Hobart, Natalie Bauer, Mary Floresand Ruth Payonk of Hammond, Kimberly Bedeker-Smith of Schererville, SheriBencze of Hebron, Dannette Daniels-Cole and 
Lori Papalambros of Merrillville, Linda Hensley-Brown of Griffith,Sarah Hill of Auburn, Darla McKim of DeMotte. Blanca Nieves and Noel Rodriguez,of East Chicago, Lauren Schoon Peterson, Cheryl Pickering, Tina Tulllyand Nancy VanVolkenburgh of Crown Point, Gregory Ramey of Lake Station,Michelle Sweeney Stan and Deborah Thompson of Portage.

The Division of Social Workoffers graduate level courses and is nationally accredited by the Councilon Social Work Education. More information is at 219-980-7111 or goto the web at

Click Indiana University Northwest For Homepage
Campus Calendar| Marketing & CommunicationsPress Releases
Comments: Office of Marketing & Communications