For Immediate Release
All Zones
May 5, 1999
For More Information Contact:
Office of Marketing and Communications
Indiana University Northwest Commencement is May 13

Indiana University Northwest will confer 808 degrees at its 33rd Annual Commencement on May 13 at 4 p.m. at the Star Plaza Theatre in Merrillville. Degree recipients include graduates from December 1998, and degree candidates for May, June and August 1999. Also included are graduate students whose degrees have been or will be awarded on a monthly basis during the 1998-99 academic year. This year marks the 85th Anniversary of the Indiana University School of Nursing.

Presiding over the ceremony is Indiana University President Myles Brand. He will also award an Honorary Degree, Doctorate of Humane Letters to Avery Franklin Brooks, Rutgers University professor, accomplished actor, opera singer and native Hoosier.

IU Northwest is organized into seven degree-granting divisions including Allied Health, Arts and Sciences, Business and Economics, Continuing Studies (including Labor Studies), Education, Nursing, and Public & Environmental Affairs and Political Science. It is also the site for the Northwest Center for Medical Education, Indiana University School of Medicine, the Dental Auxiliary Program, Indiana University School of Dentistry, and the new Northwest Indiana Police Academy.

One of the eight campuses of Indiana University, IU Northwest offering masters bachelor and associate degrees. The campus serves students in Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton, Jasper, Pulaski and Starke counties.

More information on IU Northwest is available by calling 219-980-6500.

Campus Calendar | Marketing & Communications Press Releases