For Immediate Release
All Zones
January 6, 1999
For More Information Contact:
Office of Marketing and Communications

IUN Student Leaders Selected for Leadership Development Program

The Institute for Innovative Leadership, a partnership between Indiana University Northwest and Northwest Indiana business and community leaders, recently announced the first group of students to participate in the newly created Leadership Development Program.

Selected to participate in the program designed to link educational experience with leadership are Joseph Alessi of Valparaiso, M.B.A. ; Dan Botich of Whiting, M.P.A.; Michele Braun of Portage, behavioral sciences; Shari Coulis of Munster, French and English; Derrick Crocker of Gary, business management; Diane Feder of Crown Point, MBA; Darlene Goss of Gary, health services management; Bethany Harrison of Valparaiso, business administration; Sheila Hurtado of Portage, business administration; Christina Jimenez of Hobart, business administration; Shawn Lamberson of Gary, business administration; and Eric McGinty of Portage, economics/political science.

Also, Amy Paterson of Portage, sociology; Peggy Payonk of Hammond, M.S.W; Judith Phillips of Whiting, Spanish; Brenda Rocha of Portage, nursing; Rolisha Scott of Gary, secondary education; Mary Ann Shacklett of Munster, M.BA.; David Shafer of Munster, M.P.A.; Thomas Tatro of Crown Point, nursing; Diane Vanderwerf of Gary, chemistry; Marcus Williams of Gary, African American Studies/communication; Samellia Williams of Gary, biology; and Phyllis Zarazee of Michigan City, M.B.A.

"This is an outstanding group of individuals who have chosen to be involved. These are some of IUN's very best people who are seen as community leaders. Through their participation in this program, weíll enhance their leadership capabilities," says Keith Kirkpatrick, executive director of the Institute for Innovative Leadership. He adds that acceptance into the program is the result of a nomination by faculty and staff at IUN, as well as an application screening process and interview selection process.

Interviewers included Patti Lorimar Lundberg, associate dean, IUN Division of Arts and Sciences; Dan Lowery, quality consultant, IUN Center for Management and Development; Linda Anderson, director of student affairs; Don Coffin, dean, IUN Division of Business and Education; Bob Lovely, chairman, IUN Division of Continuing Studies; Jim Dandurand, former president, Bank One; Dave Mulcahey, president, MBC Office Products; Jeanenne Holcomb, director of marketing and development, Opportunity Enterprises; Ed Radigan, executive director, Legacy Foundation; and Chip Lesch, former chairman, Pinnacle Bank.

Program participants will meet in weekly two-hour sessions for two consecutive semesters to hear and participate in a variety of presentations and panel discussions. They will also be assigned to a community leader who serves as a mentor and will be given opportunities to serve on committees, boards and short-term projects in the community. All participants will also meet in a small group setting every other week to discuss leadership and personal growth experiences.

Campus Calendar | Marketing & Communications Press Releases