For Immediate Release
All Zones
December 21, 1999
For More Information Contact:
Office of Marketing and Communications

IU Northwest 14th Annual Scholarship Gala Honors Former Chancellor

Caption: Scholarship recipient Christina Jimenez (left), and friend Danielle Bailey (right), both of Hobart, pose with IU Northwest Chancellor Bruce Bergland at the recent 14th Annual Scholarship Gala. Jimenez is currently working on a double major in Business Administration/ Actuarial Science. 

The 14th Annual Indiana University Northwest Scholarship Gala recently raised over $125,000 for the Danilo Orescanin Memorial Scholarship in honor of the former IU Northwest chancellor  (1975 to 1983) who died earlier this year.

Along with the family of Orescanin, over 250 scholarship recipients, and members of the business and campus community attended the event held at Innsbrook Country Club in Merrillville. Bank One president of the Northwest Indiana region, Bruce Dahltorp, was presented with a sculpture by Indiana University president, Myles Brand in recognition of his service to IU Northwest.

Other new scholarships introduced at the Gala included the City of Gary Scholarship, IUN Thorstad Hugus Memorial Scholarship, Jennie B. Kahn Scholarship, Jennie B. Kahn Adult Learner Scholarship, NIPSCO Scholarship, James W. and Betty Dye Scholarship, and the Ronald J. Ziol Memorial Scholarship.

 “Our ability to provide access to worthy students is so very important,” says IU Northwest "" Chancellor, Bruce Bergland.  “Scholarships are particularly important as we enter the New Millennium because IU Northwest is focusing on building a shared vision for the institution that will lead us into a bright future.” 

Campus Calendar | Marketing & Communications Press Releases