Skip to Main Content
iun science olympiad

Science Olympiad

IU Northwest Science Olympiad 2017

On Saturday February 17, 2018 IU Northwest will host its 17th annual Science Olympiad Acelor MittalRegional Tournament.  There will be 23 B and C division events offered as well as three B and three C division trial events.  We are proud to be hosting Science Olympiad tournaments since 2002. This year’s tournament has 17 C division and 18 B division teams. Please use this website to get up-to-date information. It will be updated with new information as it becomes available. As always, we look forward seeing all our friends again as well making new friends with schools that are coming to our tournament for the first time.

The primary goal of our tournament is for students to experience a fun day while doing science. A secondary goal is to find out which teams will advance to the state tournament at IU Bloomington (March 17). Advancing will be based on team placement events (not including Trial events). Currently seven C division and seven B division teams will advance to the sate tournament. Trial events are strictly for fun; medals will be awarded, however they will not count for overall team placement. This year, due to the loss of St. Joeseph College, there will not be a Wild-Card tournament.

The results of the 2017 tournament can be found by going to the following links: High School Results and Middle School Results.

Students Working on a Project
A Microscope

Office Hours

Monday ‑ Friday:
8:00 a.m. ‑ 5:00 p.m.

Email Address


Fax Number

(219) 980‑6742

Mailing Address

Nelson De Leon
IU Northwest
3400 Broadway
Hawthorn Hall 220
Gary, Indiana 46408