Science Olympiad

Science Olympiad

About Us


IU Northwest Science Olympiad

On Saturday February 21, 2015 IU Northwest hosted its 14th annual Science Olympiad Regional tournament.  All 23 B and C division events were offered as well as three B and three C division trial events.  It was touch and go throught the week wondering if the weather would cooperate. We lucked out and it did cooperate. IU Northwest had a blast hosting all the teams. We thank each of them for participating. The primary goal of our tournament is for students to experience a fun day while doing science. A secondary goal is to find out what teams will advance to the state tournament at IU Bloomington (March 21) as well as the "wildcard" tournament at Pudure West Lafayette (March 7). Advancing was based on team placement in events. Trial events are strictly for fun; medals will be awarded, however they will not count for overall team placement. Please use this website for information about the 2015 IU Northwest Science Olympiad tournament. In 2015 we will have 15 C-division and 15 B-division teams. On 1/20/15 we learned from the state committee that IUN would send to the state tournament 4 C-division and 6 B-division teams. As a result the 5th place C-division and the 7th place B-division teams will be invited to participate in the wildcard tournament. One B-division and one C-division berth to the Wildcard tournament for expansion teams will also be awarded. Advancing teams are given below,

Advancing State
B-Division: C-Division:
First Thomas Jefferson First Lake Central
Second St. Thomas More Second Whiting
Third Chesterton Third Chesterton
Fourth Kahler Fourth Canterbury
Fifth Grimmer
Sixth St. Patrick
Advancing Wildcard
B-Division: C-Division:
Runner up Whiting Runner up Marquette
Expansion Thea Bowman Expansion West Side

Detailed results for B and C Divisions can be found in the links below.

(2015) Middle School Results

(2015) High School Results