Skip to Main Content

IU Northwest News

Notes of Distinction: September 2016

Wednesday Aug 31, 2016

Whether it’s a published article, book, prestigious award or speaking engagement, members of Indiana University Northwest’s faculty and staff continue to share their wealth of expertise. We applaud the most recent top achievers that have made a name for themselves and IU Northwest.

New Faculty Fall 2016

IU Northwest file photo

Welcome New Faculty

Not only are there new students on campus for the 2016-17 academic year, there are new faculty members too. Please welcome (pictured from left): Jenny Fisher, Assistant Professor of Biology; Maria Young, Assistant Professor of Nursing; Maureen Rutherford, Assistant Professor of Psychology; Cara Mullen, Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics; Cynthia Roberts, Professor of Business Administration and Dean, School of Business and Economics; Judy Zar, Clinical Assistant Professor of Nursing; and Chae Young Chang, Assistant Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs.

*   *   *

Demetra Andrews, Assistant Professor of Business and Economics, was appointed to the Editorial Review Board of the professional journal, Academy of Marketing Studies.

 *   *   *

Tin-Chun Lin, Associate Professor of Economics, had his paper, “Does the Timing of Unannounced Quizzes Influence Student Behavior in Effort Investment and Learning Output?” accepted for publication in the International Journal of Education Economics and Development, which is a refereed journal indexed by EconLit.

 *   *   *

Kevin McElmurry, Associate Professor of Sociology, was recently elected to the Executive Council for the Association for the Sociology of Religion (ASR), an international scholarly association that seeks to advance theory and research in the sociology of religion. The Executive Council functions to arrange meetings and programs; control the relations of the Association with other learned societies; determines and controls all publications of the Association; establishes fiscal and budgetary policy for the Association; and establishes and provides suitable mechanisms for awarding prizes and honors. McElmurry will serve a three-year term.

 *   *   *

Elena Mrozinske, a clinical faculty member in the Department of Social Work, received her Ph.D. in Education from Indiana State University in May 2016. Her research focused on first-year, first-generation higher education students' academic/social integration and diversity factors that intersect with academic success.

 *   *   *

Joe Pellicciotti, Professor Emeritus of the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, was re-appointed to an additional one-year term as co-chair of the Indiana State Bar Association's Written Publications Committee.

 *   *   *

Kalim Shah, Assistant Professor of Environmental Policy, has been appointed to the Scientific Committee of the Second  International Conference on Energy, Environment and Climate Change (ICEECC)  which will be held in the Republic of Mauritius in July. ICEECC 2017 is a multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed international conference with a focus on energy generation and management, green energy, environmental engineering, environmental management, climate change and sustainable development. The conference is a component of the Lifelong Learning for Energy Security, Access and Efficiency in African and Pacific Small Island Developing States (L3EAP) Program funded by the European Union, implemented by the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) Secretariat with partners: The University of Hamburg, Germany, University of Mauritius, University of Fiji and University of Queensland, Australia. 

View Indiana University Northwest Office of Marketing and Communications Media Contact information

[an error occurred while processing this directive]