notice

Center for Innovation and Scholarship in Teaching and Learning

Summer 2015 Workshops

Canvas: Communication Strategies (CITL) Webinar

Tuesday, June 9, 2015, 12:00 AM - 12:50 AM EDT (11:00 AM- 11:50 AM CDT)
Click here for Event Details about Communication Strategies - Webinar

Canvas offers instructors many ways to communicate with their students. In this webinar, Madeleine Gonin from the CITL and Kim Murday of IT Training will discuss best practices for using the following tools: the inbox, announcements, chat, discussions, and notifications. Participants will then be able to determine which communication options best meet their needs.

Prerequisites: A basic understanding of Canvas is required. Participants should have attended a First Look workshop, read the Instructor Quickstart guide, and/or watched the instructor videos available at http://guides.instructure.com.

Please log in at https://connect.iu.edu/LearnCanvas to join the webinar.

The recorded webinar is available here


Canvas: Assignments and Grading (CITL) Webinar

Friday, June 5, 2015, 10:00 AM - 10:50 AM EDT (9:00 AM- 9:50 AM CDT)
Click here for Event Details about Assignments and Grading - Webinar

In this webinar, Cordah Robinson will demonstrate how the Assignments tool and Grades tool present graded activities to students and how instructors can use these tools to record grades and communicate with students about their competency and progress.

Please log in at https://connect.iu.edu/LearnCanvas to join the webinar.


First Look at Canvas - CTL

Tuesday, June 2, 2015 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EDT (1:00 PM- 2:00 PM CDT)

In this webinar, we will explore and discuss the structure of Canvas, IU’s new learning management system. The presentation will give instructors an understanding of the interactivity of Canvas tools and how that influences how courses are set up. Participants will learn about the following Canvas tools: Home, Calendar, Syllabus, Assignments, and Settings.

What you’ll learn:

  • -how to navigate through a new course
  • -how to set up your course in Canvas
  • -the basics of the Assignments tool
  • -the basics of the Syllabus tool

First Look at Canvas - CITL

Wednesday, May 27, 2015 10-10:50 AM EDT (9-9:50 AM CDT).

In this webinar, we will explore and discuss the structure of Canvas, IU’s new learning management system. The presentation will give instructors an understanding of the interactivity of Canvas tools and how that influences how courses are set up. Participants will learn about the following Canvas tools: Home, Calendar, Syllabus, Assignments, and Settings.
Click Here for Event Details about First Look at Canvas-Webinar-IT Training event.

What you’ll learn:

  • -how to navigate through a new course
  • -how to set up your course in Canvas
  • -the basics of the Assignments tool
  • -the basics of the Syllabus tool

Building and Organizing Content in Canvas Modules - CTL

Wednesday, May 20, 12-1:30 PM EDT (11-12:30 CDT).

Canvas offers instructors many options for presenting course materials to their students. In this webinar, copresented by CTL and IT Training, participants will learn to manage files, embed media, and create Pages in order to present course materials to students in more engaging ways.
Click Here for Event Details about First Look at Canvas-Webinar-IT Training event.

what you'll learn:

-how to manage course files
-how to embed media into various tools
-how to create pages to share course content with students
need to know:
- be familiar with the Canvas interface
- be familiar with the assignments tool

prerequsite: Canvas First Look workshop


Canvas Pages: Content in Context - CITL

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 9-9:50 AM EDT (8-8:50 AM CDT).
Click here for Event Details about Canvas Pages: Content in Context - Webinar

In this webinar taught by CITL consultant Cordah Robinson and Kim Murday of IT Training, participants will learn about the basics of using the Quizzes tool, including how to create a quiz, specify settings, and add individual questions. Participants will also learn how to use Question Groups to organize and randomize questions, as well as the range of response options for quizzes.

Please visit https://connect.iu.edu/LearnCanvas to log in and participate in this webinar.


Canvas Quizzes and Tests: Level I - CITL

Monday, May 18, 2015 1-1:50 PM EDT (12-12:50 PM CDT)

In this webinar taught by CITL consultant Cordah Robinson and Kim Murday of IT Training, participants will learn about the basics of using the Quizzes tool, including how to create a quiz, specify settings, and add individual questions. Participants will also learn how to use Question Groups to organize and randomize questions, as well as the range of response options for quizzes.

Please visit https://connect.iu.edu/LearnCanvas to log in and participate in this webinar.