Indiana University Northwest
notice
School of Business and Economics

School of Business and Economics

Business Advisory

Business Advisory Board

The Business Advisory Board assists the Indiana University Northwest School of Business & Economics in the following ways:

  • Assists in accreditation activities directly by meeting with advisors and reviewers to show the support of the business community for this initiative.
  • Supports the leadership focus and assists in accreditation efforts by coming to a class at IUN, meeting the students, and answering questions in the area of their expertise.
  • Assists in accreditation efforts and partners by offering the feedback from the business community about: 
    • the business educational and training needs of the northwest Indiana community;
    • the performance of the school's graduates;
    • the performance of the school's curriculum in meeting business educational needs
    • the school's progress on its continuous improvement activities.
  • Assists in accreditation efforts and partners, to see that the school is meeting the needs of the business community by participating in the Mission, Vision and Strategic Plan Development process of Indiana University Northwest.
  • Works to identify key business leaders to speak at Business and Economics Week presentations.
  • Helps form key partnerships in the business community to provide
  • Internships for business students.
  • Works to insure its visibility in the business community and to develop appropriate marketing strategies.

Advisory Board Members

Mr. Garry Aloia
 Mortgage Company Mgmt, LLC
 Access Home Loans, LLC
 123 North Main Street, Suite 209
 Crown Point, IN  46307
 219-662-3535
 galoia@mcmllc.biz

Dr. Bharat Barai
 Premier Oncology/Hematology
 200 E. 89th Avenue
 Merrillville, IN  46410
 219-614-7810
 bhbarai@yahoo.com

Mr. Michael Beeler
 United States Steel Corporation
 Midwest Plant
 6300 US Highway 12, AE-2
 Portage, IN  46368
 219-763-5516
 mcbeeler@uss.com

Mr. Greg Bracco
 First Midwest Bank
 10322 Indianapolis Blvd
 Highland, IN  46322
 219-853-3521
 greg.bracco@firstmidwest.com

Mr. John Desmaretz
 ClearWater Technology Group, Inc.
 11426 South Perry Avenue
 Chicago, IL  60628
 773-821-6765
 johrdesmaretz@msn.com

Mr. Mattison A. Dilts
 WestPoint Financial
 522 East 86th Avenue
 Merrillville, IN  46410
 219-756-3849
 219-756-4103
 madilts@finsvcs.com

Dr. Linda Gunn, Ph.D., CPHRM
 A.G.S. Consulting, Inc.
 P.O. Box 11517
 Merrillville, IN  46410
 219-805-4377
 agsconsult@earthlink.net

Mr. Brian Halaschak
 Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network
 870 Eastporte Centre Drive, Suite 100
 Valparaiso, IN  46383
 855-462-0110
 bhalaschak@wfafinet.com

Mr. Brett Jacobs
 Cormac Benefits Group
 2200 S. Main Street, Suite 100
 Lombard, IL  60148
 630-282-1777
 brett@cormacinc.com

Mr. William Logothetis
 Investor
 Crown Point, IN  46307
 219-743-7117
 thelogos3@sbcglobal.net

Dr. Prakash Makam
 Cardiology Assoc. of NWIN, P.C.
 10010 Donald Powers Drive
 Munster, IN  46321
 219-934-4200
 219-934-4292 fax
 prakashmakam@comcast.net

Mr. Steve McIntyre
 United States Steel Corporation
 One North Broadway
 Gary, IN  46402
 219-888-4445
 srmcintyre@uss.com

Mr. George Miga
 Consultant
 Munster, IN  46321
 219-923-9028
 georgemiga@att.net

Mr. James Percifield
 UBS Financial Services, Inc.
 181 West Madison Street, 44th Floor
 Chicago, IL  60602
 312-525-4043
 james.percifield@ubs.com

Mr. Terrence Quinn
 Peoples Bank
 9204 Columbia Avenue
 Munster, IN  46321
 219-853-7080
 tquinn@ibankpeoples.com

Ms. Mary Ann Shacklett
 Community Foundation of NWIN, Inc.
 10010 Donald Powers Drive, Suite 201
 Munster, IN  46321
 219-934-8250
 219-934-8280 fax
 mshacklett@comhs.org

Mr. Michael Skurka
 Investor
 Munster, IN  46321
 219-718-4960
 mskurka2@yahoo.com

Mr. David K. Stephenson
 Horizon Bank
 8590 Broadway
 Merrillville, IN  46410
 219-650-6525
 dstephenson@accesshorizon.com

Dr. Mary Stewart-Pellegrini
 The Stewart Management Group
 P.O. Box 2588
 Gary, IN  46403
 219-938-8094
 equitycheck44@yahoo.com

Mr. Michael L. Suggs
 Operations Integration & Strategy
 NIPSCO
 801 E. 86th Avenue
 Merrillville, IN  46410
 219-886-5655
 msuggs@nisource.com

Mr. Robert Swartz
 Swartz Retson & Co. P.C.
 235 East 86th Avenue
 Merrillville, IN  46410
 219-769-3616
 219-736-4876 fax
 rswartz@swartz-retson.com

Mr. Roger Wexelberg
 Wexworks
 26 Kincraig Drive
 Valparaiso, IN  46385
 rwexelberg@aol.com

Mr. Dave Wilkinson
 Strack & Van Til
 2244 45th Street
 Highland, IN  46322
 219-924-7588
 wilkinsonds@s-vt.com